Skip to content ↓

Forest Academy


Aligning our values to IPAT our vision is to transform the future for our children through partnership and collaboration.  Placing children at the centre of all we do, we aim to create a climate where excellence flourishes as a result of outstanding leadership, engaging teaching and high quality learning.Welcome to Forest Academy, as a local governing body we are really proud of our school. As part of the Inspire Partnership Academy Trust (IPAT), the governing body has oversight of Forest Academy. The details of our remit are set by the IPAT Trust Board and are detailed in its scheme of delegation and for a list of Inspire Partnership Trustees, please click here.  For corporate information relating to the Inspire Partnership Academy Trust, including the governing documents and the Annual Report and Financial Statements, please click here.

Our aim is to transform the lives of children and we believe the best way to achieve this is through relationships and collaboration.  We celebrate the diversity and uniqueness of our schools but believe together, we are stronger.  Our staff and children place no limits on learning, and our schools are inspiring places to learn! 

As a governing body, we are a strong and active cross section of people, with the objectives of providing a strategic view, ensuring accountability, and acting as a critical friend, through support and advice.

By providing an exciting curriculum within a caring and secure environment, we aim to ensure that each child can reach his or her full potential in every aspect of their development whilst at our school.

The governing body welcome your feedback and can be contacted via Julie Newman, clerk to governors:   

Meet your Local Governing Body  

The local governing body is made up of two parents elected by parents, one staff member elected by staff, the headteacher and up to five community governors appointed by the governing body.  

Amanda Boyne – Chair of Governors

  • Community governor. 
  • Term of office: 1st September 2021 to 31st August 2025
  • Safeguarding link governor 
  • Declarations of Interest - Vice Chair- Newington CEP school and Lower Halstow school Federation, Governor at IPAT Medway Hub

Onyeka Onyewelu - Vice Chair of Governors

  • Community governor. 
  • Term of office: 20th March 2020 to 19th March 2024
  • First appointed on 20 Mar 2020

Swabra Lloyd - Headteacher

  • Appointed governor by virtue of role
  • Term of office: ongoing

 Les Jones

  • Curriculum link governor
  • Community governor. 
  • Term of office: 1st September 2021 to 31st August 2025
  • Relevant business/pecuniary interests: Director of Accelerated Business Consulting. 6th April 2014 to present. Business Consultancy, providing professional services to organisations to help them identify and meet agreed goals.

Laura Marshall

  • SEND link governor
  • Parent governor.
  • Term of office from 2 Nov 2018 to 1 Nov 2022
  • First appointed on 2 Nov 2018

Lizzie Parkes

  • Pupil Premium and EYFS link governor 
  • Community governor.  Term of office: 18th July 2019 to 15th July 2023
    First appointed on 18 Jul 2019
  • Relevant business/pecuniary interests: Owner of Lizzie Parkes Data Tracking. 1st January 2008 to present. The business is run to support schools outside of the Trust with assessment data and tracking.

Martin Warner

  • SEND link governor
  • Community governor. 
  • Term of office:  1st September 2021 to 31st August 2025

Parent Governor - Vacancy


Lesley White

  • Staff wellbeing link governor
  • Staff governor.
  • Term of office from 1 Sep 2021 to 31 Aug 2025

Associate Governors

Sara Kennett Associate governor. Term of office from 3 Mar 2020 to 2 Mar 2024

Eileen Wray Associate Head. Term of office ongoing

Clare Dennis - Deputy Headteacher. Term of office ongoing

Governors who have served in the last 12 months

Karolina Kedziora: Parent link Governor  Resigned: 23rd March 2022

Helen Sanson: Community Governor. 1st Jan 2021 - 31 Aug 2021 - Resigned

Eileen Muwonge: Chair of Governors. 7 Jun 2018 - 31 Aug 2021 - Resigned

Kate Samuels: Staff Governor. 1 Sep 2017 - 31 Aug 2021 - Term End

Charu Patel: Parent Governor. 15th Oct 2020 - 31 Aug 2021 - Resigned